Skip to content Skip to navigation

Complete Alumni Directory

2010s

William Sherman 2017
Assistant Professor, Department of Religious Studies, UNC-Charlotte

wsherma2@uncc.edu

Joshua Gentzke 2017
jgentzke@stanford.edu

James Redfield 2017
Assistant Professor of Biblical & Talmudic Literatures, St. Louis University
redfieldja@slu.edu

Timothy DeBold 2016

Coordinator, Residential Services, Northwestern University
R.Timothy.DeBold@northwestern.edu

Kathryn Dickason 2016
Lecturer, Santa Clara University
dickason@stanford.edu

Brenda Falk 2016
brendaf@stanford.edu

Jason Protass 2016
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, Brown University
protass@alumni.stanford.edu

Nicholas Witkowski 2015
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Research Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Tokyo, Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, Tokyo, Japan
nwitkows@alumni.stanford.edu

John R. Mandsager 2014
Postdoctoral Fellowship in Jewish Studies, University of South Carolina
mandsagr@stanford.edu

Chiew Hui Ho 2013
Lecturer in East Asian Buddhist Studies (Appointed to the Department of Chinese Studies), University of Sydney
chiewhui@stanford.edu

Max Strassfeld 2013
Frankel Institute Fellow, University of Michigan
maxstras@umich.edu

Peter Woodford 2013
Postdoctoral Fellow in Theology, Philosophy of Science, and Evolutionary Biology, Cambridge University
peterwd@stanford.edu

Zhaohua Yang 2013
Professor, Columbia University
zhyang@stanford.edu

Susana Gallardo 2012
Lecturer, Department of Social Sciences, San Jose State University
susana.gallardo@sjsu.edu

Noreen Khawaja 2012
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, Yale University
noreen.khawaja@yale.edu

George Klonos 2012
vidyaloca@gmail.com

Wang Xiang 2012
Assistant Professor, Religion and East Asian Studies,
Beijing Normal University-Hong Kong Baptist University
xiangwang@uic.edu.hk

Mira Balberg 2011
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, Northwestern University
m-balberg@northwestern.edu

Kenneth Se-Woong Koo 2011
Stanford postdoctoral teaching fellow at the Asian University for Women in Chittagong, Bangladesh
kenkoo@gmail.com

Megan Bryson 2010
Visiting Assistant Professor, Religious Studies, University of Tennessee
mbryson4@utk.edu

Dominic Steavu 2010
Assistant Professor, East Asian Languages and Cultures, Religious Studies,
University of California, Santa Barbara
dsteavu@eastasian.ucsb.edu

2000s

Benjamin (Ben) Brose 2009
Assistant Professor, Asian Languages & Cultures, University of Michigan
bbrose@umich.edu

David Levinsky 2009
Rabbi in the Chicago area
davidlev@stanford.edu

Candace West 2009
Stanford Introduction to the Humanities
maza@stanford.edu

Sarah Fremerman 2008
Senior Consultant at Japan Intercultural Consulting
sarah.aptilon@gmail.com

Joshua Peskin 2008
(M.A. Emory University) Modern Jewish Thought, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics (advisor: Eisen)
jpeskin@stanford.edu

Claire Sufrin 2008
Visiting Assistant Professor, Northwestern University
cesufrin@stanford.edu

Dan Washburn
College of William and Mary
washburnstanford@yahoo.com

Akiba Lerner 2007
Associate Professor, Religious Studies, Santa Clara University
alerner@scu.edu

Theodore (Tad) Cook 2007
(M.A., Indiana), Buddhist studies, medieval Chinese Buddhism and Taoism (advisor: Faure).
tadcook2001@yahoo.com

Kathleen Tierney 2007
Religious ethics; religious thought of Iris Murdoch; religious ideal of selflessness in light of feminist criticism.
kathleen.tierney@stanford.edu

Jennifer Rapp 2006
Robert Aird Chair in the Humanities and Professor, Deep Springs College, Nevada
jenniferrapp@deepsprings.edu

David Quinter 2006
Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and East Asian Studies, University of Alberta
quinter@ualberta.ca

Shari Epstein 2006
Dean of Academic Affairs, Dharma Realm Buddhist University
shari.epstein@drbu.org

Jason (J.J.) Josephson 2006
Associate Professor of Religion, Williams College
Jason.A.Josephson@williams.edu

Wilburn Nels Hansen 2006
Associate Professor, Religious Studies, San Diego State University
mbolthou@mail.sdsu.edu

Lisa Ann Grumbach 2005
Instructor at the Institute of Buddhist Studies

Mara Hillary Benjamin 2005
Assistant Professor of Religion at St. Olaf College
mbenj@stolaf.edu

Mark William Gonnerman 2004
Assistant Professor, Institute of Transpersonal Psychology
mgonnerman@itp.edu

Elizabeth Anne Morrison 2004
Associate Professor at Middlebury College
emorriso@middlebury.edu

Julius Nanting Tsai 2004
Vice-Consul, US Embassy, Beijing, China

Gregory John Watkins 2003
Assistant Director at SLE, Stanford University
gwatkins@stanford.edu

James George Robson 2002
Associate Professor, East Asian Languages and Civilizations, Harvard University
jrobson@fas.harvard.edu

Pauline Chen Lee 2002
Assistant Professor of Chinese Religion and Culture, Religious Studies at Washington University in St. Louis
pclee@wustl.edu

Gregory Ethan Kaplan 2002
Anna Smith Fine Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies at Rice University

Irene Lin 2001
Associate Director, Ho Center for Buddhist Studies at Stanford
ihl@stanford.edu

Henry (Hank) Joseph Glassman 2001
Associate Professor of East Asian Studies at Bryn Mawr Haverford College
hglassma@haverford.edu

Caroline Wagner Reichard 2000

Christine Elizabeth Ewing 2000

Michael Como 2000
Associate Professor and Fukami Professor of Shinto Studies at Columbia University
mc2575@columbia.edu

1990s

Stephen A. Wilson 1999
Associate Professor of Religion and Philosophy at Hood College
wilsonst@hood.edu

Einat Ramon 1999
Dean of the Schechter Rabbinical Seminary, teaches Modern Jewish Philosophy at the Conservative Yeshiva in Jerusalem
einatramon@schechter.ac.il   

David (Max) Leo Moerman 1999
Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Cultures at Barnard College
dmoerman@barnard.edu

Thomas Abner Lewis 1999
Vartan Gregorian Associate Professor of Religious Studies, Brown University
Thomas_Lewis@brown.edu

Mark Allen Berkson 1999
Associate Professor in the Religion Department at Hamline University
mberkson@hamline.edu

John Edward Taylor 1998
Associate Professor of Law at West Virginia University College of Law
john.taylor@mail.wvu.edu

Edward Gilman Slingerland 1998
Associate Professor of Asian Studies at the University of British Columbia; Canada Research Chair in Chinese Thought and Embodied Cognition
edward.slingerland@ubc.ca

Lawrence William Gross 1998
San Manuel Band of Mission Indians Endowed Chair of Native American Studies, University of Redlands
larry_gross@redlands.edu

Avi K. Bernstein-Nahar 1998
Dean of Educational Planning and Development at the Center for Adult Jewish Learning at Hebrew College
Center for Adult Jewish Learning at Hebrew College

Egil (Gil) Fronsdal 1998
Director, Insight Meditation Center, Redwood City
insightmeditationcenter@gmail.com

Wendi Leigh Adamek 1998
Lecturer in East Asian Buddhism, University of Sydney
2009-10 External Faculty Fellow, Stanford Humanities Center
External Faculty Fellow, Dept. of Religious Studies, Barnard College
adamekw@gmail.com

Jean Clark Roth 1997

Masahiko Okada 1997
Professor, Tenri University
satsuki@sta.tenri-u.ac.jp

Kenneth Alan Koltun-Fromm 1997
Associate Professor of Religion at Haverford College

James Marcus Hyman 1997

Bruce Alan Wallace 1995
President of the Santa Barbara Institute for Consciousness Studies

David Lion Gardiner 1995
Associate Professor in the Religion Department at Colorado College

Zachary Joseph Braiterman 1995
Associate Professor in Religion and Judaic Studies at Syracuse University

Mark Ty Unno 1994
Associate Professor in the Religious Studies department at the University of Oregon
munno@darkwing.uoregon.edu

Lu Jun Yin 1992
MBA Stanford 1996

Kent Eugene Richter 1990
Associate Professor, Philosophy/Religious Studies, DuPage University
richterk@cod.edu

Vivian-Lee Nyitray 1990
Associate Professor in the Religious Studies department at the University of California Riverside

Vincent C Gilliam 1990

1980s

Thomas Anthony Tweed 1989
Gwyn Shive, Anita Nordan Lindsay, and Joe and Cherry Gray Professor of the History of Christianity, University of Texas at Austin
tomtweed@austin.utexas.edu

Karen Leslie Carr 1989
Professor of religious studies at Lawrence University

Edward Allen Beach 1988
Associate Professor in the Philosophy and Religious Studies Department at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Patricia O Killen 1987
Provost, Professor of American Religions, and Director of the Center for Religion, Cultures, and Society in the Western United States at Pacific Lutheran University

Philip John Ivanhoe 1987
Professor at City University of Hong Kong

Scott Dennis Peterman 1986
Foreign legal consultant

David Landis Barnhill 1986
Director of Environmental Studies and Professor of English at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Updates

Alumni status will be periodically verified and updated. If you have more current information on any of our alum, please contact Sarah Brabeck sbrabeck@stanford.edu so that we can include this information in our next update. Thank you.