Past Student Awards Recipients

The Lawrence Berman Prize

2019-20 Arman Kassam, "A Shared Exodus: Analyzing the Multi-confessional Consumption of Abraham Ortelius’ Map of Palestine."

2018-19 Paritosh Kanoria, "A Granite God in an Ocean of Milk."

2017-18 Michal Leibowitz, "Beyond Symbolism: Tefillin as the Creation of Loving Bodies."

2016-17 Michal Leibowitz, “Signs and Symbols: Interpreting Eternal Light in Jewish, Christian, and Secular Spaces.

2014-15 Justin Brinkley, “The New Perspective on Paul: Rethinking the Judaism of Paul’s Day and the Identity of God’s People.

2013-14  Jenna Leonardo, “YouVersion’s Bible App: The role of design in digitally mediated religious experience.

2012-13  Tae Shin Lee,  “Diotima’s Speech as Apophasis: a Holistic Reading of the Symposium.

2011-12  Amy Lanctot, “Concealment and Manipulation: Interpretations of Esther and Vashti in Diasporic Traditions.”

2010-11  Johanna (Hanni) Hanson, “Defenders of the Cloister: Catholic Nuns’ Agency and Resistance in Reformation Germany.

2009-10  Trent Walker, “Liberation Through Hearing: Sound and Music in Sukhāvatī.

2008-9 Manny Fassihi, “‘Reductio in Vacuitas’: De-Reifying Perception through Apophasis in Nagarjuna’s Mulamadhyamakakarika.”

2007-8  Trent Walker, “Reconciling Buddhist Modernism and Nonviolence: Khiew Chum’s Cambodian Vision.”

2006-7 Martine Cicconi, “A Common Woman of Uncommon Character: An Analysis of Hannah in Early Jewish and Modern Feminist Interpretation.”

2004-5 James L. Poskin, “Conceptions of the Comic within the Spheres of Existence in Climacus’ Concluding Unscientific Postscript”

2003-4 Eva Tuschman, “Marking Meaning in Time and Space: An Examination of Bodily Consciousness and Sacred Landscape in Tibetan Pilgrimage.”

2001-2 Sara Jasper, Jacqueline Schwartz

2000-1 Erica Gielow

1998-99 David Albertson, “Rethinking the Redeemer, Ritschl’s Restatement of Schleiermacher’s Christology.”

1997-98 Rebecca Bowen, Andrew Bradley

1996-97 Sanjiv Harpayat, “Jai Santoshi Maa: Deciphering Its Gendered Message.”

1992-93 Heather Lind

1991-92 Alexandra Blythe Whitehead

The Howard M. Garfield Award

2021-22 Hannah Kunzman

2019-20 Asher Faris

2018-19 Matthew Parent

2017-18 Tristan Navarro

2014-15 Mauricio Antunano

2013-14  Zoe Wolford, James Daniel (Jimmy) Fowkes – posthumous award

2012-13  Johanna (Hanni) Hanson

2011-12  Alexandra Grace Larrave

2010-11  Joshua Aidan Dunn

2009-10  Zaid Adhami

2008-9 Alexandra Martin

2007-8 Jesse Wallin

2006-7 Raena Saddler

2005-6 Kathleen Alda Balthrop-Lewis

2004-5 Tatiana Forcro Puerta

2003-4 Ben Howard

2002-3 Valarie Kaur Brar

2001-2 Alison Bjerke, Erika Moseson

2000-1 Haji Priya

1999-2000 David Albertson

1998-99 Christina Taber

1997-98 Christopher Babbit, Dora Frimmer

1996-97 Susan Meffert, Catherine Mizrahi

1995-96 Grace Y. Kao

The Robert M. Golden Medal for Excellence

2011 Simon Neely, “Sacramental experience and the theory of friendship in the late years of Simone Weil.”

2010 Trent Walker, “Quaking and Clarity: Samvega and Pasada in Cambodian Dharma Songs.”

2009 William Sherman, “Inscribing the Divine Language, Text and Knowledge in Ibn-al-‘Fusus al-Hikam and Nicholas of Cusa’s De visione Dei.

2007 Lola Feiger, “The Memorialization of Urban Concentration Camps: Reading the Scale and Infrastructural Complexity of Sachsenhausen for an Understanding of the Holocaust.”

2003 Valarie Kaur Brar, “Targeting the Turban: Sikh Americans and the Aversion Spiral After September 11.”

2000 David Albertson, “The Question Mark of Theology: Karl Barth’s Scientific Theology as Theological Critique of the University.”

2001 Nancy Elisa Alvarez, “Sex and Power in a Textual Variant of the Collectio Tripartita: Reconstructing an Ideology of Reform Identity from a Canon Law Collection at the Benedictine Monastery of Admont, c. 100-1125.”

1997 Andreea C. Nicoara, “The Romanian Uniate Church After 1948.”