Student Awards

The Lawrence Berman Prize

Established in memory of former professor in the Stanford Religious Studies department Lawrence Berman (1929-1988), this is awarded for the best essay written by an undergraduate student in a Religious Studies class:

The Howard M. Garfield Award

The Howard M. Garfield Award is granted to the graduating student in Religious Studies who, through scholarship and/or service, illuminates and exemplifies those humane ethical values common to the world’s diverse religious traditions:

  • 2022 Hannah Kunzman
  • 2021 Alexander Lam
  • 2020 Asher Faris
  • 2019 Matthew Parent
  • 2018 Tristan Navarro
  • 2015 Mauricio Antunano
  • 2014 Zoe Wolford; James Daniel (Jimmy) Fowkes – posthumous award
  • 2013 Johanna (Hanni) Hanson