Skip to content Skip to navigation

Student Awards

Recent Student Awards Recipients

The Lawrence Berman Prize

Established in memory of former professor in the Stanford Religious Studies department Lawrence Berman (1929-1988), this is awarded for the best essay written by an undergraduate student in a Religious Studies class:

The Howard M. Garfield Award 

The Howard M. Garfield Award is granted to the graduating student in Religious Studies who, through scholarship and/or service, illuminates and exemplifies those humane ethical values common to the world’s diverse religious traditions:

  • 2019-20 Asher Faris
  • 2018-19 Matthew Parent
  • 2017-18 Tristan Navarro
  • 2014-15 Mauricio Antunano
  • 2013-14 Zoe Wolford; James Daniel (Jimmy) Fowkes – posthumous award
  • 2012-13 Johanna (Hanni) Hanson